Street Shots: Kathmandu, Nepal

Narrow

Narrow

While making my way to check out Basantapur square in Kathmandu I got the urge to shoot some street photography. Pulling my EPL-1 out of my backpack and mounting my trusty 45mm 1.8 lens I headed off down the street excited to feed one of my passions in life.

flower

Flower Ladies

After about 10 mins of shooting I realized Kathmandu is a street photographers paradise! Every second something or someone interesting would catch my attention keeping me left eye glued to my viewfinder. Also the streets and squares are very busy which makes for an environment were you can really get in close without being detected to capture those candid moments in people’s lives.

bottle

Balancing Trick

Life on a string

Life on a string

Tough

Tough

lost face

Lost Face

mother

Mother

Making the move

Making the move

teeth

Teeth

Dream of flight

Dream of flight

Power Nap

Power Nap

Smile for a smile

Smile for a smile

Never trust a monkey!

Never trust a monkey!

The Stache

The Stache

Working Children

Working Children

goat

Going for a walk

Red ladys

Red ladies

Light in the cage

Light in the cage

Cheers!

12 Comments

Filed under Asia, Nepal, Photos

12 responses to “Street Shots: Kathmandu, Nepal

  1. Rosanne

    Awesome pics Josh! I feel like I’m walking down the street with you!

  2. Wonderful photos – another few days and I’ll be using my EPL3 in those same streets. What setting did you use, your colours are so vibrant.

    • Thanks!! My settings were Aperture Priority, F1.8-3.0 auto iso, I-inhance mode. Probably the biggest reason the pics are so vivid was the lighting. I was shooting between 5:00-6:00 pm which had that nice Dawn Dusk light that brings out colors.

  3. Agata

    Wow, I am truly impressed. You take such great photos. But it’s a one thing. You are a really brave traveller. Greetings from Poland 🙂 Btw, you have the same last name as the great Polish vocalist had.

  4. Agata

    And what countries do you plan to visit in Europe?

  5. Thanks Josh – the time of day definately makes a big difference.

  6. Agata

    Well, so you may come to Poland 🙂 to Łódź. it is not beautiful at all and it’s grey. and i mean REALLY grey. 😉 but i live here and I can show you some places!

  7. These are amazing pictures! And it certainly does look like it’s a street photographers paradise 🙂

Leave a Reply

